Bob Dylan saved Mick Ronson

Mick Ronson talks about meeting Dylan and going on the road with him (Rolling Thunder Revue) after being ditched by Bowie. In this account Ronson had met Bob’s pal Bobby Neuwirth in Greenwich Village.

“He was with this guy,” Ronson remembers. “And I looked at this bloke he was with and thought, ‘Wait I minute, I know you.’ And, of course, it was Dylan. And we talked, and he said, ‘We’re going on the road, why don’t you come with us?’ I just said, ‘Yeah.’ I honestly thought it was a joke. I didn’t think I’d hear any more. Then Dylan phoned me, said the tour was going to happen. This was a Friday. He said rehearsals were going to start on Sunday and would I be there? I thought it were a fooking hoax. I really didn’t think he was serious.”

Read more?

Leave a Reply

