How Jack White met Bob Dylan

The Wall Street Journal’s Speakeasy blog has an interview with Jack White where he speaks about meeting Bob Dylan.

“Q. How did you first strike up a friendship with Bob Dylan?

That was just by accident. I went and saw him play in Detroit and he said to me, “We’ve been playing one of your songs lately at sound checks.” I thought, Wow. I was afraid to ask which one. I didn’t even ask. It was just such an honor to hear that. Later on, I remember I went home and I called back. I said, “Can I talk to the bass player?” I called the theater. I was like, “Did Bob mean that he wanted me to play tonight?
‘Cause he said some things that I thought maybe – maybe I misconstrued. Was he meaning that he wanted me to play with him tonight?”

Read more?

2 comments

  1. The best friendships are usually happening by accident. I know myself I’ve met a lot of friends just by accident.

  2. It’s pretty spectacular to make friends with Bob Dylan!

Leave a Reply

