Supporting Bob

65greenwichvillage.jpg

Interview:

Glen Hansard of The Frames.

ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY: You’ve been supporting Bob Dylan on his Australian tour. Is that a tough gig?

GLEN HANSARD: The good thing about doing the Dylan supports is that it’s an audience full of people like me. They’re fans. But one thing I’m utterly aware of is that at a Bob Dylan show, no one’s there to specifically see the support act. So you don’t try to win them over, because that’s futile. You just do your thing, and maybe people will get it, maybe they won’t.

As he’s so reclusive, I assume you haven’t got to meet him.

On this trip so far I haven’t. But I’ve met him a few times before. We’ve played with him in Ireland and England. I first met him 10 or 11 years ago in a rehearsal studio and spoke to him for five minutes. It was a total accident. I met him in the hallway and I didn’t even know he was in the same building. I didn’t know what to say, so I said, ”Meeting you is what it must have been like for you to meet Woody Guthrie.” That was the only thing that came into my head. And he totally opened up and started talking about Woody. The next day his manager rang up at the rehearsal studio and said, ”I don’t know what you said, but you impressed Bob, and would you like to come and do some gigs with him?”

Read the article

