Saturday Night’s Show

Boston, Massachusetts (Agganis Arena)

November 11, 2006
1. Maggie’s Farm
2. She Belongs To Me
3. Lonesome Day Blues
4. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
5. It’s Alright, Ma (I’m Only Bleeding)
6. Workingman’s Blues #2
7. Tangled Up In Blue
8. Blind Willie McTell
9. Most Likely You Go Your Way (And I’ll
Go Mine)
10. Ballad Of Hollis Brown
11. Highway 61 Revisited
12. Spirit On The Water
13. Summer Days(encore)
14. Thunder On The Mountain
15. Like A Rolling Stone
16. All Along The Watchtower

Such an awesome show!! This was the first time I’ve gotten to see Maggie’s Farm live and although it’s not one of my favorites, I really liked the arrangement.

She Belongs to Me was amazing! I honestly wasn’t expecting that one so it was a nice little surprise. He played the harmonica in this song and I just loved it! There is absolutely nothing he could have done to make this song sound any better, in my opinion, it was perfect.Lonesome Day Blues was pretty good, but that one isn’t one of the songs that’s standing out in my mind.
Don’t Think Twice was fantastic!! He goofed up the lyrics a little though. In the first verse he said “It don’t matter, anyhow” twice and then he basically fumbled through the first line of the second verse and eventually got it by “light” and seemed to chuckle to himself a little bit.

The harmonica was beautiful though and basically the whole ending of the song rocked!
It was so good it made me forget about the shaky beginning for the moment.
It’s Alright Ma was good as usual and everyone screamed after the “even the president of the United States sometimes must have to stand naked” like they usually do.

Finally the 6th song was something from the new album!! I was hoping for something else but I was entirely satisfied with Workingman’s Blues. Sounded almost exactly the way it does on the album.
Tangled Up in Blue!!! I will never ever get sick of this song! The guitars sounded perfect and I just love the way Bob sings it.
I’m not familiar with Blind Willie McTell but they did a nice job with the song. When the lights came back on for Most Likely You Go Your Way the band started playing and Bob wasn’t there. Eventually he walked over to the keyboard and started playing.

Then during one of the instrumental breaks he started walking around the stage, he seemed irritated at something. Maybe at Stu?
Hollis Brown was a definite highlight. That was another song I wasn’t expecting and it sounded beautiful. I can’t wait to find a recording of the show so I can hear it again.
This was definitely the best version of Highway 61 that I’ve gotten to hear. The band was totally rocking out and the crowd was going wild.

I can’t wait to hear it again!
Spirit on the Water was one of the songs I was really hoping to hear. The harmonica was awesome at the end and when he got to the line “you think I’m over the hill, you think I’m past my prime” everyone yelled “No!” and started cheering and screaming.
All the songs in the encore were great as well. Like a Rolling Stone was better over the summer because back then they turned the lights on over the crowd during the chorus and that was just so much cooler.

It was still really good though. After Bob introduced the band and said whatthey all play he said “And I’d like to play guitar, but then I’d have to find someone to play this thing!” then I believe he said “Well, maybe someday…” Some people have been speculating that he’s getting sick of Stuand I’ve heard some people say “I think he just fired him on the spot!” but I’m not sure
how true that is. I will be so jealous if Bob ends up playing the guitar at some point this month and I miss it!

By Gina Chase

